Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs: No veil for this girl!

Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs answers all your wedding etiquette questions. Each post features a new question and answer. Have an etiquette question of your own? Leave a comment and your question will be answered.

Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs,

I do not want to wear a veil at my wedding next November. My Mom and I have been arguing about this for some time now. She says I have to wear a veil, “it’s tradition”. I am a modern bride and want anything but traditional for my “Vintage Romance” styled wedding. My hair plan includes long soft curls and a small pin. Help me! I don’t want to hurt my Mom’s feelings but I don’t want to compromise my wedding day style.

Sincerely,

Modern-Bride-to-be

Dear Modern-Bride-to-be,

First of all, your Mom is right about the wedding veil being tradition. Tradition isn’t for everyone though. Have you considered compromise? Why not style your hair in long soft curls and your small pin. Then take a couple pictures with a traditional veil in place. This way, your Mom has her tradition and you have your Modern.

Sincerely,

Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs

Leave a Reply

