Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs: Do I really have to let his sister be my bridesmaid?

Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs answers all your wedding etiquette questions. Each week features a new question and answer. Have an etiquette question of your own? Leave a comment and your question will be answered.

Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs,

During our most recent wedding planning discussion, I mentioned to my fiance that I do not want his sister to be one of my four bridesmaids. He is not happy about this. Although she is a nice girl, we are not that close. I have two sisters of my own and many friends who are closer to me than she is. I don’t want this to be a big issue, but I really want to include my friends instead of his family in regards to my attendants. Help!??

Sincerely,

Stuck-in-the-middle

Dear Stuck-in-the-middle,

You are not alone in this touchy argument. Ultimately, the attendants standing up for the bride and groom should be the people who they are closest to. There are many families who expect all brothers and sisters to be in the wedding party, but this doesn’t have to be the case. It really comes down to ruffling feathers and causing upset. Can you add one more person to each side? Will your decision to not have her make too many people angry and is it worth it? At the end of the day, make the decision that is right for you and your wedding. After all, you should be able to enjoy your day stress free.

Sincerely,

Miss. B. Perfect-Affairs

 

Leave a Reply

